Two Wayne leaders recognized by CDE

butts Pete Just 2015 (1)

Wayne Township superintendent Jeff Butts and chief technology officer Pete Just are among 30 technology leaders across America who were awarded the Center for Digital Education’s Top 30 Technologists, Transformers and Trailblazers award.

This accolade honors K-20 education leaders who are morphing the learning landscape by utilizing innovative technologies to enhance the overall learning environment. The 2015 award winners were selected based on their efforts to improve education through effective implementation of technology rich solutions; their impact on student outcomes; and their overall initiative, creativity and leadership skills.

Digital advancements recognized include:

  • Using data to understand and address statewide education challenges, including increasing educator quality and retention
  • Closing the connectivity gap through creative measures such as outfitting buses with WiFi routers, parking router-equipped buses in low-connectivity neighborhoods in the evening, partnering with a cellular/cable vendor to provide low-cost Internet service and coordinating with local businesses to provide students with free Internet access at their establishment
  • Monitoring public social media posts to ensure school and student safety
  • Developing a totally immersive and responsive learning environment equipped with mobile furniture, LCD screens, wireless projection, digital whiteboard painted walls, portable whiteboards, cases of tablets and more

“Our 2015 Top 30 award winners represent thought leaders and innovators in higher education, K-12 and the education nonprofit community, which offers sustenance and influence to the field of education,” said Dr. Kecia Ray, executive director of the Center for Digital Education. “I am honored to facilitate such an amazing community of leaders and thrilled to welcome our new award winners.”

The Top 30 Technologists, Transformers, and Trailblazers (see full profiles at 30): Dr. Darryl S. Adams, Superintendent of Schools and Servant Leader, Coachella Valley Unified School District, California Chris Aviles, EdTech Coach, Fair Haven School District, New Jersey Susan M. Bearden, Director of Information Technology, Holy Trinity Episcopal Academy, Florida Gregg Behr, Executive Director, The Grable Foundation, Pennsylvania Norman Bier, Director, Open Learning Initiative, Executive Director, Simon Initiative, Carnegie Mellon University, Pennsylvania Gary Brantley, Chief Information Officer, DeKalb County School District, Georgia Dr. Jeffrey Butts, Superintendent, Metropolitan School District of Wayne Township, Indiana Alisa Chapman, Ed.D., Vice President for Academic and University Programs, University of North Carolina Trina Davis, Ph.D., Associate Professor and Director of Glasscock Island, Department of Teaching, Learning and Culture, Texas A&M University Julie Evans, CEO, Project Tomorrow, California Dr. James P. Frazee, Senior Academic Technology Officer, San Diego State University, California Dr. Randy Hansen, Master of Education in Instructional Technology Program Chair, University of Maryland University College Ken Ingle, Chief Information Officer, Rowan-Cabarrus Community College, North Carolina Pete Just, Chief Technology Officer, Metropolitan School District of Wayne Township, Indiana Dr. Gary Lilly, Director of Schools, Bristol Tennessee City Schools, Tennessee Jennie Magiera, Chief Technology Officer, Des Plaines School District 62, Illinois Chris Malone, Assistant Superintendent of Schools, Revere Public Schools, Massachusetts Michelle Murphy, Executive Director of Technology Services and CTO, Coachella Valley Unified School District, California Doug Orr, Supervisor of Technology, Summit Public Schools, New Jersey AJ Phillips, Director of Information Technology Services, Prince William County Public Schools, Virginia Tim Renick, Vice Provost and Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Success, Georgia State University Theresa Rowe, Chief Information Officer, Oakland University, Michigan Jay Rozgonyi, Director of Academic Computing, Fairfield University, Connecticut Dr. David R. Schuler, Superintendent, Township High School District 214, Illinois Kristin Scott, Assistant Director for Education Technology and Information Technology Training, Tyler Junior College, Texas Jeremy Shorr, Director of Innovation and Educational Technology, Mentor Public Schools, Ohio Dr. Scott S. Smith, Chief Technology Officer, Mooresville Graded School District, North Carolina Valerie Page Truesdale, Ph.D., Chief Technology, Personalization and Engagement Officer, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools, North Carolina UWM U-Pace Team, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee William R. Watson, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Learning Design & Technology, Director, Purdue Center for Serious Games and Learning in Virtual Environments, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education, Purdue University, Indiana Underwriters for the 2015 awards include CDWG, Pure Storage, LivingTree and Symantec.

The Center for Digital Education (CDE) is a national research and advisory institute specializing in K-12 and higher education technology trends, policy and funding. CDE provides education and industry leaders with decision support and actionable insight to help effectively incorporate new technologies in the 21st century.