BDTV earns state recognition

Broadcasting programs offer real-world experience


Dominic Johnson, Staff writer

The following BDTV students recieved honors at the 2014 Indiana Association of School Broadcasters High School Conference and Competitiion at the University of Indianapolis:
State Champion- Television News Package
Anna Darling
3rd place-Television News Package
Adam Shattuck and Alec Edick
2nd place- Television School Newscast
BDTV- Ben Davis High School
State Fiinalist-Live Television News Anchor (6 total in the state)
Karla Fernandez-2nd year in a row
Anna Darling
3rd place-Television News Anchor
Karla Fernandez
Nearly 800 students and instructors from 28 high schools throughout the state participated in the 11th annual event.  The competition drew 389 entries in 25 categories.
In addition, Monday night at the Disability Awareness Month Reception and Celebration, BDTV received the “Advocate Award” for producing the daily packages profiling our Wayne Township students.  This award is in recognition of building relationships with and advocating for the needs of students with disabilities.
Also, BDTV student Te’Shay Hightower won 1st place in the MSD of Wayne Township 31st Annual Martin Luther King, Jr. “Expressions of Freedom” Contest “United We Stand” for Ben Davis High School.