Cooper named finalist for top journalism award

Senior Breanna Cooper Tuesday was named one of seven finalists for the Indiana Student Journalist of the Year award. The award is sponsored by the Indiana High School Press Association.

Cooper will be honored on March 13 at 11 a.m. in the Indiana Statehouse.  The finalists for the 2015 award are:

            Alaa Abdeldaiem, Crown Point High School
            Darian Benson, Lawrence Central High School
            Johann Bittner, North Central High School
            Breanna Cooper, Ben Davis High School
            Nicholas Taylor Fuchs, Jeffersonville High School
            Maureen Langley, Bloomington High School North
           Christina Winfrey, Crown Point High School

Two of these journalists will be awarded journalism scholarships by the Hoosier State Press Association and one of them will be named the Indiana Student Journalist of the Year. The state winner automatically advances to national competition.

This is the second straight year Ben Davis has had a finalist. Ashley Shuler was runner-up for the state award last year. Shuler is currently a freshman at Franklin College.