Athletes honored at sports banquet

What a year it was in Ben Davis sports history.

In addition to the school winnings its eighth state football championship, the boys track team also spent time ranked No. 1 in the state and the wrestling team sent three on to state including state champion Dylan Lydy. The athletic memories from this school year are many.

During Wednesday’s annual sports banquet, seniors Connie Brahm and Asmar Bilal were named Class of 2015 Athletes of the Year. Brahm set a school record in girls cross country and was a star on the track team while Bilal won Mr. Football at linebacker and is a member of the track team.

Brahm will attend Indiana University in the fall where she plans to participate on the rowing team while Bilal has a football scholarship to the University of Notre Dame.

Other winners announced Wednesday include:

2015 Ben Davis Athletic Booster Club

44th Annual All Sports Banquet

Major Award Winners

US Marines Distinguished Athlete Award                                 Mariana Lagunas

 (Sergeant Drew Desero)                                                                     Norman Oglesby

US Marines Scholastic Excellence Award                                  Kyle Castner

            (Sergeant Drew Desero)                                                    Audrey Adams

US Army National Scholar Athlete Award                                Caelan Priddy

(Staff Sergeant Wyatt)                                                    Kristen Link

Wendy’s Heisman Award                                                            Caprice Garner

Varsity Blanket Award                                                                Audrey Poteet

Golden Achievement Athletic Award                                         Brennan Gillis

Savannah Wills

Dylan Lydy

Kayla Bear

Golden Achievement Academic Award                                     Justin Brandon

Claire Thompson

 2015 Scholar Athletes of the Year                                               Amanuel Araya

Caitlin Heffner

2015 Senior Athletes of the Year                                                 Asmar Bilal

Connie Brahm