Clark named Indiana Elementary Principal of the Year


Moira Clark poses with some of her Maplewood students. Clark was named the Indiana Elementary School Principal of the Year Sunday.

The Indiana Association of School Principals has named Moira Clark, principal of Maplewood Elementary, its 2015 Elementary Principal of the Year.

Under Mrs. Clark’s leadership, Maplewood elementary moved from a state letter grade of F to an A in one school year.

“This was accomplished through a number of strategies,” said MSD Wayne Superintendent Jeff Butts, “but the biggest factor was Mrs. Clark’s ability to lead her excellent staff towards creating a school environment that reflects high expectations for all.”

Maplewood has a free and reduced lunch rate of 87 percent and supports a community with many needs.

“Mrs. Clark understands the physical, social, emotional, and cognitive (more) needs of the students her school serves each day,” said MSD Wayne Assistant Superintendent for Elementary Education Cheri O’Day. “She has created a warm, inviting, safe, and secure climate at Maplewood.”

Adding to Maplewood’s success during the 2014-15 school year was the nomination and award of the National Title 1 Distinguished School Award. The school’s structured, nurturing environment – coupled with purposeful planning and strong relationships with students and families – helped Maplewood close its achievement gap.

The National Title 1 Association asked Maplewood to share its methods for success with other schools around the country.

“Moira Clark is a passionate, committed public school administrator who has spent her life devoted to education,” Butts said. “We are extremely proud of her accomplishments and grateful for her dedication to our students.”

Mrs. Clark joins several others in Wayne who have been recognized by IASP in the past.  Others include:

Karen Gould – Elementary Principal of the Year in 1992

Jim Mifflin – High School Principal of the Year in 1993

Shelly Moyers – Assistant Principal of the Year in 2003

Bruce Haddix – Elementary Principal of the Year in 2004

Sherri Patterson – Middle School Principal of the Year in 2005

Dan Wilson – Middle School Principal of the Year in 2013