Two Wayne teachers honored by state


staff report

Two Wayne Township teachers are among the Top 25 teachers left in the running for the 2022 Indiana Teacher of the Year.

Courtney Ramon and Shanea Kelley are the Wayne Township teachers honored. Ramos was honored as the Secondary TOY for MSD Wayne and was an LAP teacher at Chapel Hill.  She transferred to Westlake this year and is teaching 6th grade.  Kelley is the Elementary TOY and teaches first grade at Westlake.

Each year, the Indiana Teacher of the Year Program (INTOY) works to inspire, rejuvenate, and celebrate the teaching profession by recognizing outstanding teachers from across the state. The INTOY award is a lifetime role in education, which has many opportunities to celebrate teaching
and uplift the teaching profession. Indiana Teachers of the Year are a network of exceptional teachers who are current or retired educators, administrators, and teacher leaders who continually provide support to the education community.

The 2023 Indiana Teacher of the Year Top 25 Finalists are:

Amanda Fox Penn-Harris-Madison School Corporation
Amanda Beck Tippecanoe School Corporation
Becky Holmen Duneland School Corporation
ChristyAnn Norton Indiana Academy for Science, Mathematics and Humanities
Coty Wiley Brownsburg Community School Corporation
Courtney Ramos Metropolitan School District of Wayne Township
Craig Harvey Franklin Community Schools
Denise Green Greenwood Community School Corporation
Emily Steffen Brownsburg School Corporation
Erin Parker La Porte Community School Corporation
Helen Hearon Mill Creek Community Schools
Jason Beer Southwest Allen County Schools
Jennifer Herold School Town of Munster

John Harkness West Washington School Corporation
Joshua DeBard Lebanon Community Schools Corporation
Karisa Schwanekamp Plainfield Community School Corporation
Kathleen Avery South Bend Community School Corporation
Kathleen Overbeck Carmel Clay Schools
Kelly Hine Zionsville Community Schools
Lori McGavic Noblesville Schools
Paula Shouse Fayette County School Corporation
Rachel Cline Center Grove School Corporation
Shanea Kelley Metropolitan School District of Wayne Township
Stacy Doub Bartholomew Consolidated School Corporation
Tara Cocanower Metropolitan School District Bluffton-Harrison

The Top 25 will be narrowed down to a Top 10 before the Indiana Teacher of the Year is announced.