Giants earn 31 AP honors

Ehizokale leads impressive list of academic achievers

Ben Davis students received a total of 31 AP Scholar Awards in recognition of their exceptional achievement on AP Exams given in the spring of 2013.  Awards given included one National AP Scholar, six AP Scholars with Distinction, seven AP Scholar with Honors and 18 AP Scholars.

The College Board’s Advanced Placement Program (AP®) provides students with the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performances on the AP Exams.  About 18 percent of the more than 1.8 million students worldwide who took AP Exams performed at a sufficiently high level to also earn an AP Scholar Award.

Ben Davis 2013 graduate Eric Ehizokale qualified as both National AP Scholar (earned an average score of 4 or higher on a five-point scale on all AP Exams taken, and scored a 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams) and as Scholar with Distinction (earned an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and scored 3 or higher on five or more of these exams.

In addition to Ehizokhale, five other 2013 graduates were named as AP Scholar with Distinction.  Those five students were  Brock Bateman, Kegan Ferguson, Katherine McKain, Olivia Peavler and Mara Vetters.

The AP Scholar with Honor is granted to students who receive an average score of at 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and scores a 3 or higher on four or more of these exams.  Members of the Class of 2013 who received this honor included  Laura Daily, Abigail Freeman, Karina Gonzalez, Kayla Houston and Gabrielle Weinert.  The remaining two students receiving the Scholar Award with Honor award are Benjamin Shi and Austin Witherite, who are currently seniors at BDHS.

Additionally, the College Board awards the AP Scholar award to those students who complete three or more AP Exams with scores of 3 or higher.   Fourteen members of the Class of 2013 were eligible for the AP Scholar award:  Nina Angelo, Tyler ASkren, Tyler Blythe, Jayashree Brown-Riddles, Vaidehi Desai, Barbra Dudley, Kokeb Gebre, Sarah Gordon, Madeleine Holmes, Kara McKinney, Alaina Page, Meredith Warbinton, Amanda Ward and Louis Wieseman.   The remaining award AP Scholar award recipients are current seniors.  They are Joshua Bishop, Lauren Corbin, Celia Ochoa and Cameron Peck.

Ben Davis High School offers more than 20 opportunities for students to be involved in Advanced Placement courses and take advantage of the in-depth study in various subjects.  Curriculum in these courses is designed to meet the requirements for taking the AP tests and will help prepare willing and academically prepared students for greater academic success in college.  Students who are interested in participating in the AP program should contact their high school guidance counselor