Owens named Teacher of the Year


Xochitl Moreno

Art teacher Cara Owens works with a student on a ceramics project. Owens is the 2022 Ben Davis Teacher of the Year.

Brooklynn Sharp, staff writer

Art teacher Cara Owens was named Tuesday as the 2021-2022 Ben Davis teacher of the year.

Owens answers some questions about her profession.

Why did you decide to become a teacher?

“In high school I didn’t have a lot of career guidance i didn’t know what i wanted to be and i went through a loss and befriended my art teachers and they helped me guide me to where i wanted to be.”

Did someone as you were growing up influence you to become a teacher?

“Yes so I had a lot of art teachers some of them were Vicki Ayres and Beth Diehl and had a lot of influence from them.

What do you find rewarding about being a teacher?

“Seeing my students happy and successful, seeing my students enjoy creating art and as they get older i enjoy seeing them enjoy their life.”

What do you find challenging about being a teacher?

“Certain state laws that create issues for admin and teachers and they’re not able to do their job properly because of state law.

What does it feel like to be named teacher of the year?

“It feels good to even be nominated by your peers but the fact that I even got the award was nicer, gracious, not expecting to get it.”

What are some of your favorite memories here teaching at BD?

“Mr. (Kevin) Britt driving an ice cream truck that was made out of a floor cleaner dressed as spider-man during the pandemic shutdown. Watching my first impact class graduate, being able to just work with the art department because they’re all great people they give me daily memories.”

Has there been a student that changed your life?

“A lot of kids have helped to change my life, not able to have kids of my own so my students become my kids in a sense I remain in contact with students as they grow older and start their own families . I even went to a former student’s daughter’s third birthday party.”

Former BD Teachers of the Year

2022 Cara Owens
2021 Brayton Mendenhall
2020 Tom Hayes
2019 Allison Kegley
2018 Sarah Shannon
2017 Grace Schmitt
2016 Dennis Goins
2015 Shannon Singleton
2014 Jen Schultz
2013 Pam Bacon
2012 Tim Pratt
2011 Tina Waechter
2010 Carey Munoz
2009 Doug Sisk
2008 Leslie Kelly
2007 Jason Gallman
2006 Carol Hervey
2005 Janet McKinney
2004 Richard Elmore
2003 John Clark
2002 Debbie Davidson
2001 Karen Bennett
2000 Jason Gallman
1999 Janet McKinney
1998 Larry Hurt
1997 Max McQueen
1996 Scott T. Williams
1995 Dottie Elliott
1994 Jenny Hendricks
1993 Dan Carrington
1992 Ann Newman