Boys win track sectional

It’s eight in a row and counting

The Ben Davis trackmen won the IHSAA sectional Thursday night, scoring 214 points and winning 11 of the 16 events. It marks the eighth straight year the team has won sectionals.

Giants taking first place include DeAndre Bluitt in the high jump, Christian Powell in the long jump, Moussa Conde in the pole vault, 110 meter high hurdles, and 300 meter hurdles, Derrick Jones in the 200 meters, Aaron Murray in the 400 meters, Hubaid Ali in the 800 meters and all three relays.

The 4×800 relay was Amanual Araya, David Behrmann, Tim Anderson and Hubaid Ali. The 4×100 relay was Ray White, Derrick Jones, Chris Evans and Chris Parish. The 4×400 relay was Jordan Wilkerson, Derrick Jones, Aaron Murray and Frank Rhodes.

Regional action is next Thursday at 6 p.m. at North Central. The Giants will have competitors in every event except the 1600.