Spotlight, Keyhole earn honors over fall break

Staff report

Senior Anna Eggers won two first place awards from the Indiana High School Press Association during fall break.

Eggers earned first place in their annual contest in the categories of news writing portfolio and photo illustration. She was one of six individual award winners for Spotlight in the annual IHSPA contest. Senior Ellen Bain won third place in sports writing for a feature on assistant basketball coach Courtney James.

Other winners included Abby Beaumont and Jennie Leeper both honorable mention in editorial writing, Leeper second place in column writing, Beaumont and Krista Olden third place in single page design and Kat Avilla both honorable mention and second place in editorial cartoon. Beaumont, Leeper, Olden and Avilla each graduated last school year.

Spotlight also earned distinction as a Hoosier Star finalist for Indiana newspaper of the year. It was the 14th straight year Spotlight has been named a Hoosier Star finalist.

Also, during fall break, both Spotlight and Keyhole were named Silver medalist winners in annual judging from Columbia Scholastic Press Association. That honor means both publications are up for Gold Crown status, the highest honor presented by CSPA. Gold Crown winners will be announced in January.