Journalism programs combine for 14 awards

WPCI honors best in state

Staff report

Ben Davis journalism programs combined to win 14 state awards from the Women’s Press Club of Indiana in results announced today.

Among the 14 winners were four state winners, each of whom will go on to national competition. First place winners include junior Luna Stinson in review writing, senior Evelyn Sanchez in video news story and 2017 graduate Ryan Eggers in sports writing. The WPCI contest includes anything published from February 1, 2017 to January 31, 2018. Publications teacher Tom Hayes had previously been named the state winner for adviser to a scholastic publication.

Stinson won first place for her review of 13 Reasons Why. Judges said of her story: “This is a strong flat-out review of a controversial topic, but it is the kind of writing and perception that we hope future journalists have.”

Eggers won for his game story from the 2017 Class 4A boys basketball championship. Judges said: “Great example of what a good high school game story should be. The writer did a good job of taking a singular event and weaving in story elements from story lines throughout the season into a single, coherent narrative in a way that is interesting and engaging to read.”

Sanchez won for a BDTV package she did on a DACA rally downtown.

Other Ben Davis winners include:

Reeya Patel — Third place in editorial writing
Evelyn Sanchez — Honorable mention in opinion column
Abby Speitel — Honorable mention in news writing
Hera Boyd — Second place in column/blog writing
Tai Johnson — Third place in sports photo
Hera Boyd and Abby Speitel — Third place in single page design
Abby Speitel — Third place in environmental writing
Matthew Swisher — Second place in best newscast
Aaron Faulkenberg — Third place in video feature story
Tai Johnson and Adrienne Pemberton — Third place in yearbook layout
Results from the national competition will be announced in May.