Journalism programs bring home 11 awards

The Ben Davis journalism programs brought home a combined 11 awards this past weekend, led by three writing awards for senior Spotlight editor Breanna Cooper.

Cooper, a finalist for Indiana journalist of the year this year, won a third place award for editorial writing, an honorable mention award for editorial writing and a third place award for news writing from the Women’s Press Club of Indiana.

Other winners from the WPCI were senior Lacey McLaughlin for honorable mention in feature photography, junior Shelby Jenson honorable mention for sports photography, sophomore Ryan Eggers honorable mention for sports writing and junior Kellie Leeper second place for yearbook page design.

On Friday, Jenson earned a Superior award in sports photography from Ball State University while junior Ellie Johnson earned an Excellent award in television production from Ball State. Johnson is a reporter for BDTV. Also, the Spotlight received honorable mention for overall print newspaper and honorable mention for overall online newspaper from Ball State.