Giants have won 26 state titles

Last one was 2010 boys track team


Ben Davis is sixth in the state in total number of IHSAA State Championships with 26.

Carmel, our opponent in next week’s Class 6A state football title game, ranks first in the state with 120 state titles while North Central is second with 60.

Ben Davis won its first state championship in 1961 when the boys cross country team  won.  The Giants then went until 1979 before winning another title when the girls swim team won the first of three straight state titles. Math teacher Sherry Gramer was a member of that first state title team.

The Giants have won seven state titles in football with the most recent being in 2002.  Ben Davis has won state championships in nine different sports.

Here is the list of Ben Davis state titles:

Ben Davis (26)
Baseball 1980-81
Boys Basketball 1994-95, 1995-96
Girls Basketball 1999-00 (4A), 2000-01 (4A), 2008-09 (4A), 2009-10 (4A)
Boys Cross Country 1961-62, 1989-90, 1990-91, 1995-96
Football 1987-88 (5A), 1988-89 (5A), 1990-91 (5A), 1991-92 (5A), 1999-00 (5A), 2001-02 (5A), 2002-03 (5A)
Boys Golf 1991-92
Girls Swimming 1978-79, 1979-80, 1980-81
Boys Track & Field 2007-08, 2008-09, 2009-10
Volleyball 1979-80

Carmel is a distant leader in all state titles and has won a championship in all sports except gymnastics. The Greyhounds recently won the 4A volleyball championship and have won 20 state championships since 2010. Carmel’s last football championship was in 2011.

The top schools with state titles include:

Total School
120 Carmel
60 North Central (Indianapolis)
35 Columbus North (Columbus)
29 Bloomington South (Bloomington)
28 Indianapolis Cathedral
26 Anderson
26 Ben Davis
25 Gary Roosevelt
23 Muncie Burris
23 Valparaiso
22 Warren Central
20 Fort Wayne Bishop Luers
20 Martinsville
19 Kokomo
18 Lafayette Central Catholic
17 Evansville Mater Dei
17 Hammond
17 Muncie Central
17 Park Tudor
16 Brebeuf Jesuit
16 Evansville Memorial
16 Fort Wayne Northrop
16 Penn
15 Indianapolis Bishop Chatard