2012-2013 Spotlight receives CSPA awards

Newspaper finds itself a big winner in annual contest

Annually, the Columbia Scholastic Press Association (CSPA) hosts a contest awarding prestigious student work from around the country. Newspapers, magazines and yearbooks can enter stories and pages to try to win awards.


On Friday, the Spotlight newspaper staff last year found out they won seven awards from the association.


The staff won third place in headline writing and overall design. 2012-2013 co-editor-in-chief Megan Tackett and 2013-2014 editor-in-chief Ashley Shuler (current senior) won first place in briefs writing. Shuler also won second for news page design for an election preview page, first place in news page design portfolio of work and a certificate of merit for news writing about MSD Wayne Township’s budget deficit. 2012 co-editor-in-chief Catherine Doggett won a certificate of merit for a feature page design titled, “Who are we?”


Newspaper students are currently waiting to get back their overall newspaper critiques to see what they can improve this year.